Newtown Youth and Family Services Minutes of Board of Directors Meeting July 25, 2011 - 6:30 PM 17 Church Hill Road, Newtown, CT

Members Present: Maureen Birden, Tom Murtha, Rosalie Newman, Jim Solomon, Elise Trock, Layne Lescault, Paul Mangiafico, Leonard Penna, David Moseman, Rick Child

Members Not Present: Diane Savinelli, Ashley Mele, Steve Meeker, Sheilah Krasnickas, Susan Improta

Staff Members Present: Candice Foster, Sheila Russo

Guests Present: Karen White

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 pm on July 25, 2011 by Tom Murtha.

a) Roll Call- The roll of the Board of Directors was taken by signing in and a quorum was established.
b) Approval of June 2011 Minutes - Motion made by Layne Lescault to approve minutes as written and seconded by Elise Trock. Motion passed unanimously.

2. Chairman's Report

a) As the focus of this month's meeting, Tom discussed budget projections. The last three years our budgets have not been realistic. Non-salary expenses have been tweaked as much as possible and controls implemented. Candice, Tom and David have been examining the numbers and reallocating some expenses that were incorrectly booked. The draft budget for 2011-2012 still shows an anticipated loss of \$30,000, which is unacceptable. The budget will not be approved until the next meeting after further cuts are made. The tentative budget projections will be available to members prior to the next meeting.

b) Our working space is still an issue. Our rental costs are too high and the space is not adequate (we need about 7,500 sq. ft.). However, Candice feels that we are not maximizing our current space. Since we currently can't afford to move, we will probably stay at Church Hill until our lease expiration in 2012. We will continue to explore options for a move at the expiration of the current lease.

c) Fund raising must improve. In Steve Meeker's absence, spreadsheets were passed out showing progress of the Road Race fundraising and board members are asked to help get additional sponsors. Additionally, the revamped Holiday Festival needs to produce the same, if not more, income as last year.

d) As we still have not received our entire deposit back on the Mt. Pleasant Road property, we will proceed to Small Claims Court to recover the balance.

3. Executive Director's Report

a) We are looking for additional per diem clinicians which would allow us to expand week night and early morning hours, which a number of clients want.

b) Currently our clinicians are seeing clients on a one-on-one basis. This is not the most efficient use of clinician's skills. Group sessions are a much more productive use of clinicians' time. We are exploring ways to offer group sessions at the current location.

4. Finance and Treasurer's Report

Our new Treasurer, Dave Moseman, feels that our most pressing issue is cash flow management. We have not received our July funding from the Town and several of our grants have the money earmarked

but won't release it in view of the current state/federal financial situation. Once grant funds are received we will have more time to concentrate on increasing our funding.

5. Old Business

None.

6. New Business

a) Ron Pekrul submitted his resignation from the Board effective July 1 due to increased job responsibilities at Union Savings Bank. Cindy McIntyre submitted her resignation effective July 25 as a result of opening a new photography studio in Westport, which will require all her time. A motion was made by Layne Lescault, seconded by Jim Solomon, to accept Ron Pekrul's resignation. A motion was made by Maureen Birden, seconded by Elise Trock, to accept Cindy McIntyre's resignations. Both motions passed unanimously.

b) A motion was made by Layne Lescault, seconded by Jim Solomon, to nominate Karen White and Leslie Polseno as Board Members. The motion passed unanimously.

7. Adjournment

A motion was made by Elise Trock, seconded by Dave Moseman, to adjourn the meeting at 8:15. The motion passed unanimously.

The next meeting will be held in the Meeting Room (Community Room) of the C.H. Booth Library, on August 22, 2011 at 6:00 PM.

Respectfully submitted by,

Layne Lescault Secretary